Saturday, 25 June, 2022

Topic: Bypolls

Drawing blanks in 5 bypolls in 4 states, BJP concerned over Bihar defeat, momentum in Bengal

Congress won Assembly seats in Chhattisgarh & Maharashtra, RJD won in Bihar — where BJP is part of ruling coalition — and TMC in Bengal. TMC also won Asansol Lok Sabha seat.

‘Infighting, poor candidate choice’ — BJP pins down reasons for Himachal bypoll debacle

BJP lost all four Himachal Pradesh bypolls held on 30 October, making it the only party-ruled state where it failed to win any seats in the elections.

BJP’s ‘all is well’ in the national executive is ignoring key party problems

There are many questions BJP legislators and other leaders, who aren’t in the close circles of high command, are asking, though not aloud.

BJP overdependence on Modi once again clear from bypoll loss. Congress too can’t hide its slide

ThePrint view on the most important issues, instantly.

Why Karnataka bypolls are ‘insignificant’, but for Congress, BJP & JD(S) a prestige battle

Karnataka, which has 224-member House, will see bypolls in two assembly seats of Sindagi and Hangal on 30 October.

EC announces bypolls to 3 Lok Sabha seats, 30 assembly constituencies on 30 October

The election body took the decision to hold bypolls, across 14 states, after reviewing the situation related to pandemic, flood, festivals and getting feedback from concerned states/UT.

YSR Congress secures victory by record margin in Tirupati Lok Sabha bypoll

A political novice, YSR Congress' M Gurumoorthy defeated former Union Minister of State Panabaka Lakshmi of the Telugu Desam Party by a margin of over 2.70 lakh votes.

BJP wins Morva Hadaf assembly bypoll in Gujarat

BJP state president C R Paatil and CM Vijay Rupani expressed their gratitude to the voters and party workers for ensuring a huge victory for the BJP candidate in Gujarat.

BJP leads in early trends of Morva Hadaf Assembly bypoll in Gujarat

Out of 15,391 votes counted in the first 4 rounds, BJP's Nimisha Suthar bagged 11,240 votes, while Congress rival Suresh Katara was trailing by 3,547 votes.

Congress secures early lead in 2 seats, BJP in 1 constituency in Rajasthan bypolls

An ECI spokesman said that 4/30 rounds in Sujangarh, 7/25 rounds in Rajsamand and 5/28 rounds in Sahada have been completed till 10 am.

On Camera


PM Narendra Modi addresses the bureaucrats at Vigyan Bhawan | Photo: Praveen Jain| ThePrint

Modi govt’s assault on democracy is more sinister than the Emergency. Look at the differences

While the Emergency was brutal and sudden, Modi govt's moves are far more insidious and systemic and will undermine our society for a long time.
Credit: ThePrint team

‘All about helping Rajni’ — tech gurus at iSPIRT quietly power India’s digital revolution

With the fictitious Rajni from rural India as its guiding light, iSPIRT has been using internet & software to change structure of country’s economy, with aim to improve quality of life.


The Indian Air Force logo | Commons

Almost 4,000 enrol for IAF’s Agnipath recruitment scheme on day 1 of online registrations

These registrations pertain to the Indian Air Force's Agniveer Vayu programme. The online portal for the first phase was opened at 10 am Friday, and will close on 5 July.

With Agnipath, Modi govt’s shock & awe doctrine may have misfired a vital reform, yet again

Modi govt's biggest flaw has been its disinclination to accept limitations of electoral majorities. This ruined land acquisition and farm reform, stalled labour codes.