Home Politics Himachal Pradesh Elections 2017

Himachal Pradesh Elections 2017

BJP CM Candidate, Prem Kumar Dhumal addresses during an election rally in Hamirpur

Prem Kumar Dhumal and other major upsets in the Himachal Pradesh election results

The BJP's chief ministerial candidate wasn't the only major upset in the Himachal Pradesh poll results. Here's a list of the biggest upsets.
Congress party supporters celebrate in Ahmedabad

Six seats in Gujarat decided by less than 1,000 votes

The Gujarat polls turned out to be a closer battle than many expected, and these eight seats epitomised that with the smallest of margins.
BJP maintains its hold over ‘Gujarat model’ showpiece Kutch

BJP maintains its grip over ‘Gujarat model’ showpiece Kutch

BJP improves victory margin in two key constituencies—Bhuj and Anjar—and almost maintained its 2012 cushion in Mandvi and Gandhidham.
Narendra Modi with party senior leader & MP Shanta Kumar with other leaders

Six reasons why BJP swept to victory in Himachal

From targeting Virbhadra Singh on corruption charges to presenting its own united front, these are the reasons why BJP is forming a government in Himachal Pradesh.

The giant killers in Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat polls

With the BJP set to form the government in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh, ThePrint takes a look at the underdogs who became ‘giant killers’.
BJP supporters celebrating their party's success in Himachal Pradesh

BJP wins Himachal in a landslide, but faces Dhumal embarrassment

Party wins 44 seats in Himachal Pradesh, but its CM candidate Dhumal loses in Sujanpur, as does state party chief Satpal Singh Satti in Una.

Big test for BJP as Himachal goes to polls today

50 lakh electorate to cast votes to choose between six-time CM Virbhadra Singh of Congress and septuagenarian BJP leader, Prem Kumar Dhumal.
Win these 3 districts to win Himachal Pradesh

Win these 3 districts to win Himachal Pradesh

Kangra, Mandi, and Shimla districts are home to half of the 50 lakh voters of Himachal, and 33 of 68 seats. BJP is making a concerted push to gain ground.
Himachal Pradesh CM Virbhadra Singh says the Congress will retain power in the state

‘With Dhumal as CM face, Modi & Shah want to escape blame for BJP’s impending defeat’

Himachal CM Virbhadra Singh claims voters will reject BJP because of policies such as note ban and GST.
BJP president Amit Shah with Himachal CM candidate of the party PK Dhumal

‘Delay in naming Himachal CM face to ensure free and fair selection of candidates’

BJP insiders say party chief Amit Shah wanted to finalise the tickets on the basis of winnability and early announcement could have affected this process

On Camera

File photo of BSP supremo Mayawati and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav | PTI

Modi’s big UP win means Akhilesh Yadav’s SP & Mayawati’s BSP will soon be rivals again

With Narendra Modi keen on winning UP again in 2022, there will be pressure on Yogi Adityanath’s government to perform better.

Does Congress have a future in India after 2019 Lok Sabha election results?

The Congress party faced a crushing defeat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections at the hands of Narendra Modi-led BJP.


Ministry of Defence building

On new govt’s defence agenda — 4 key projects to boost India’s military prowess

Indian Air Force and Indian Navy are in dire need of fighter jets, helicopters and submarines, and the new government has to ensure that they get them.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi in 2014 | Commons

Pracharak Modi: The mask you see, is the man you get

India has its first leader who is unapologetic about belonging to the social and political Right. This is how Shekhar Gupta foresaw Modi’s five years in this National Interest within three months of his victory in 2014.