Karnataka assembly elections
BJP workers celebrate the party's lead in more than 100 Assembly seats outside the party office in Bengaluru | PTI
Text Size:

The unique trend started way back in 1972 when the Congress won the Shirahatti seat and went on to form the government led by Devraj Urs.

New Delhi: The Karnataka assembly poll results, declared Tuesday, has thrown a surprise. For the first time in 46 years, the party that has won the Shirahatti assembly seat in Karnataka — considered a bellwether constituency — may not be able to form the government in the state.

BJP candidate R.S. Lamani won the seat by a margin of over 20,000 votes against his nearest rival D.R. Shiddlingappa of the Congress party in this election, results of which were declared Tuesday.

Traditionally, the party which bags the Shirahatti seat rules the state.

However, as the trends showed Tuesday, BJP was leading in 104 seats — eight seats short of the majority mark — until the filing of this report.

The unique trend started way back in 1972 when the Congress won the seat and went on to form the government led by Devraj Urs.

We are deeply grateful to our readers & viewers for their time, trust and subscriptions.

Quality journalism is expensive and needs readers to pay for it. Your support will define our work and ThePrint’s future.


The Congress retained the constituency for a decade until U.G. Fakeerappa, sitting Congress MLA, contested as an independent in the 1983 polls and decided to support the Janata Party. Ramkrishna Hedge of the Janata Party became chief minister.

In the 1989 assembly elections, the Congress recaptured the Shirahatti seat and formed the government.

The BJP won this seat for the first time in 2008 when party candidate R.S. Lamani defeated H.R. Nayak of the Congress by over 10,000 votes. The same year the BJP formed its first majority government in Karnataka. Also, it was the first BJP government in south India.

In the 2013 assembly elections, D.R. Shiddalingappa of the Congress defeated R.S. Lamani of the BJP by only 315 votes and the party formed the government with Siddaramaiah as chief minister.

Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

News media is in a crisis & only you can fix it

You are reading this because you value good, intelligent and objective journalism. We thank you for your time and your trust.

You also know that the news media is facing an unprecedented crisis. It is likely that you are also hearing of the brutal layoffs and pay-cuts hitting the industry. There are many reasons why the media’s economics is broken. But a big one is that good people are not yet paying enough for good journalism.

We have a newsroom filled with talented young reporters. We also have the country’s most robust editing and fact-checking team, finest news photographers and video professionals. We are building India’s most ambitious and energetic news platform. And we aren’t even three yet.

At ThePrint, we invest in quality journalists. We pay them fairly and on time even in this difficult period. As you may have noticed, we do not flinch from spending whatever it takes to make sure our reporters reach where the story is. Our stellar coronavirus coverage is a good example. You can check some of it here.

This comes with a sizable cost. For us to continue bringing quality journalism, we need readers like you to pay for it. Because the advertising market is broken too.

If you think we deserve your support, do join us in this endeavour to strengthen fair, free, courageous, and questioning journalism, please click on the link below. Your support will define our journalism, and ThePrint’s future. It will take just a few seconds of your time.

Support Our Journalism

Share Your Views


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here