Friday, March 24, 2023
HomePoliticsSome poetry, many congratulations, silence from Shah — how BJP reacted to...

Some poetry, many congratulations, silence from Shah — how BJP reacted to AAP’s Delhi sweep

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, who was convinced that they could win 55 of the capital’s 70 seats, said he accepted the verdict with good wishes for Kejriwal. 

Text Size:

New Delhi: A couplet, some introspection and many good wishes. Led by PM Narendra Modi, several BJP leaders sought to congratulate the AAP as it sealed a second successive win in national capital Delhi Tuesday.  

Prime Minister Modi took to Twitter, wishing Chief Minister-elect Arvind Kejriwal the very best in “fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Delhi”.

Kejriwal tweeted back, thanking PM Modi for his wishes.  

BJP national president J.P. Nadda said he “respected” people’s decision. 

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, who was convinced until Tuesday morning that the party could win 55 of the capital’s 70 assembly seats, said he accepted the public verdict with good wishes for Kejriwal. 

BJP candidate and AAP turncoat Kapil Mishra congratulated the winning party and said the “struggle will continue”, also claiming in an interview with news agency ANI that the BJP had probably failed to strike a connect with Delhi’s voters. 

 Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga, BJP spokesperson and candidate from Hari Nagar, was poetic about his defeat in what was his first election ever. The couplet he posted roughly translated thus — victory and defeat are just lessons learnt on one’s journey.

Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir, a BJP MP representing East Delhi, assured Kejriwal of shared commitment towards the capital’s development.

Union Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar also wrote that he “respected” the mandate. 

Union Home Minister and the BJP’s master poll strategist Amit Shah, who led an aggressive campaign for Delhi, was yet to offer a reaction by the time of publishing this report.

Also Read: 5 reasons why Modi-Shah’s BJP lost to Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP in Delhi election

Tweet & defeat

In the face of defeat, Modi and Shah generally respond with a reiteration of their “respect for the people’s mandate” and gratitude for party workers. 

When Jharkhand assembly election results were declared last December, PM Modi praised BJP karyakartas (party workers) for the work they put in.

Tweeting a few minutes earlier, Shah said the BJP “respected” the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. 

When results for the 2018 assembly elections for Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh were announced in December of that year, Modi chose to “accept the people’s mandate with humility”. He also thanked his party workers for their support.

Shah chose to be silent on the verdict in these states too, instead congratulating K. Chandrashekar Rao on his victory in the Telangana assembly election that was held at the same time.

Also Read: Why Delhi voters chose Arvind Kejriwal for CM and Narendra Modi for PM


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular