AAP after Delhi polls result
Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal gestures during his address to supporters after party's victory in the State Assembly polls, at AAP office in New Delhi. | PTI
Text Size:

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party’s young faces such as Atishi and Raghav Chadha will not find a place in Arvind Kejriwal’s council of ministers as the new Delhi government plans to continue with its old cabinet, ThePrint has learnt.

Sources said Kejriwal, who was elected legislative party leader of AAP Wednesday, does not want any changes in the cabinet because he feels the party has swept back to power on the basis of the hard work of the incumbent ministers.

While portfolio allocation will be decided later, all the ministers will take oath with Kejriwal Sunday at the Ramlila Maidan. The 2015 Delhi Cabinet includes Manish Sisodia, Satyender Jain, Kailash Gehlot, Gopal Rai, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Pal Gautam.

Sisodia was the Education Minister in the previous cabinet, and he also held charge of the Women and Child Welfare Ministry. Gautam was the Social Welfare Minister, while Jain held the Health and PWD portfolios. Gehlot was Transport Minister and was also in charge of Law, Revenue and Information and Technology. Rai was the Labour Minister and Imran Hussain was given charge of Food and Civil Supplies, Environment and Forest.

Kejriwal led the AAP to its second consecutive sweep in Delhi Tuesday, dealing a blow to main rival BJP and completely decimating the Congress. It has won 62 of Delhi’s 70 seats.

Also Read: Why 2020 is a much bigger achievement for Arvind Kejriwal than 2015



ThePrint is now on Telegram. For the best reports & opinion on politics, governance and more, subscribe to ThePrint on Telegram.

1 Comment Share Your Views



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here