Tuesday, 9 August, 2022
HomePoliticsFour Samajwadi Party MLCs join BJP in run-up to UP assembly election

Four Samajwadi Party MLCs join BJP in run-up to UP assembly election

The four sitting SP MLCs who have joined the BJP are Ravi Shankar Singh, Narendra Singh Bhati, C.P. Chand and Rama Niranjan.

Text Size:

Lucknow: In a boost for the Uttar Pradesh BJP ahead of the 2022 Assembly polls, four sitting MLCs of the SP joined the saffron party here on Wednesday.

“The four sitting SP MLCs (Member of Legislative Council) who have joined the BJP are Ravi Shankar Singh alias Pappu Bhaiyya, Narendra Singh Bhati, C P Chand and Rama Niranjan,” Uttar Pradesh BJP spokesperson Manish Shukla said.

In a tweet in Hindi, the state unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said, “Influenced by the various public welfare policies of the BJP, four SP MLCs have joined the BJP.”

The MLCs joined the BJP in the presence of Deputy Chief Ministers Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma and state BJP chief Swatantra Dev Singh.

Swatantra Dev Singh in a tweet in Hindi said the four MLCs were impressed by the welfare policies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Speaking to reporters, Ravi Shankar Singh said he wanted to join the saffron party ever since Neeraj Shekhar, son of former prime minister Chandra Shekhar, resigned from the Samajwadi Party and as Rajya Sabha member in July 2019 and joined the BJP.

Ravi Shankar Singh is the grandson of Chandra Shekhar.

“One of the reasons for joining the party was that Neeraj Shekhar was denied ticket by the SP after which he joined the BJP. I had the intention of joining the BJP almost one-and-half years ago when Neeraj had quit. Another reason is that I am influenced by Modi ji and Yogi ji,” Ravi Shankar Singh said.

It was on an SP ticket that Neeraj Shekhar had won the Lok Sabha election from Ballia in 2007, which was held after his father — the sitting MP — died, and again in 2009. After he lost in 2014, the SP sent him to Rajya Sabha. He was not fielded by the party in the 2019 Lok Sabha poll.

On the challenges being faced by the ruling BJP, especially those posed by the SP and Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party, Ravi Shankar Singh said SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar will not have any impact on the BJP’s prospects in the upcoming poll.

“After joining hands with the BJP, he (Rajbhar) earned money and strengthened himself,” Ravi Shankar Singh said referring to Rajbhar’s tenure as a minister in the Yogi Adityanath government.

Meanwhile, Narendra Bhati had landed in a controversy in August 2013 after a video purportedly showed him as claiming that he got IAS officer Durga Shakti Nagpal, who had clamped down on the mining mafia, transferred in 41 minutes.

According to the official website of the 100-member Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, the SP has 48 MLCs followed by the BJP with 36 MLCs and the Bahujan Samaj Party with six MLCs.

The Congress, Apna Dal (Sonelal), Nirbal Indian Shoshit, Hamara Aam Dal (NISHAD party) have one MLC each, the Teachers’ group, Independent group (Nirdal Samooh) and Independents have two MLCs each while one seat is vacant.

Also read: Samajwadi Party forms alliance with ex-BJP ally SBSP for 2022 UP polls


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular