Friday, March 31, 2023
HomeIndiaThePrint’s Editor-in-Chief Shekhar Gupta recognised with ‘Lifetime Contribution to Media’ award

ThePrint’s Editor-in-Chief Shekhar Gupta recognised with ‘Lifetime Contribution to Media’ award

Thirteen other noted personalities including Serum Institute of India CEO Adar Poonawalla and Tata Sons Chairman N Chandrasekaran were also awarded under various categories by AIMA.

Text Size:

New Delhi: ThePrint’s founder and Editor-in-Chief Shekhar Gupta was presented the ‘Lifetime Contribution to Media’ award by the All India Management Association (AIMA) Tuesday, for making a mark in the field over the years and changing the face of Indian media in the 21st century.

“I have spent the last 10-15 years in dread of something called lifetime achievement award…I rehearsed an answer that I would give to those who ask me to write a memoir, as getting a lifetime achievement award is like writing a memoir as it would mean your life is done…I tell my publishers that if I’ll write a memoir, I will call them first innings…so this (award) is for the first innings, and now the second innings has started, and that is,” he said on receiving the award at the felicitation ceremony, held at the Taj Palace Durbar Hall, Delhi.

“It’s an honour to present this award to Shekhar Gupta…a widely respected journalist who has been a central figure of the Indian media evolution over the past four decades. He has reported on watershed events and questioned the high and mighty…He continues to strive for public trust in news and respect for media…In a sharply polarised society, he holds the middle ground…,” said Akshay Bhalla, Office Managing Partner for KPMG India, reading the citation.

Thirteen other noted personalities were also presented awards under various categories. While Serum Institute of India CEO Adar Poonawalla was named ‘Business Leader of the Year’, WION Executive Editor Palki Sharma Upadhyay won an award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Media’. Tata Sons Chairman N Chandrasekaran was conferred the ‘Transformational Business Leader’ award, while the ‘MNC in India of the Year’ award was bagged by Nestlé India

Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari was the chief guest at the event, meant to honour dignitaries from the government and corporate world. AIMA Director-General Rekha Sethi and President C K Ranganathan were also present, and delivered the welcome address. Managing India Awards Jury Chairman Sanjiv Goenka made introductory remarks before the commencement of the award function.

Gadkari said that “rewarding those who are special achievers and their success stories will inspire others to make their own success stories”. 

“First, those who were awarded for excellence in their respective fields, I congratulate them. This award will give them motivation as they will know their work is getting recognised. I know most of these people and believe they are an asset to us. Entrepreneurs are not only wealth creators, but (also) employment creators. If we strengthen these people, we will be strengthening the country. Those who have done outstanding work are an inspiration for the country as well,” he added. 

(Edited by Gitanjali Das)

Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular