Representational image | Commons
Representational image | Commons
Text Size:

New Delhi: Supreme Court will hear a group of farmers seeking to halt land acquisition for India’s maiden high-speed rail project, funded by Japan.

A two-judge bench headed by Justice Deepak Gupta issued a notice to the government on Friday seeking its view on the farmers’ petitions. The apex court will hear the case on March 20.

The court’s decision threatens to further delay the 508-kilometer (316 miles) rail project linking India’s financial capital Mumbai to Ahmedabad, the capital city of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state of Gujarat. Farmer protests over land acquisition is a recurring issue that has plagued infrastructure investments in India.

The farmers’ allegations that the land acquisition process for the project is illegal was rejected by a lower court in September, prompting them to move the top court.

Japan International Cooperation Agency had in 2017 agreed to fund most of the $17 billion needed for the project that will give a modern push to Asia’s oldest rail network. – Bloomberg

Also read: After complaints from employees, Tejas Express crew get salary hike and weekly-off  


ThePrint is now on Telegram. For the best reports & opinion on politics, governance and more, subscribe to ThePrint on Telegram.

4 Comments Share Your Views


  1. Modi only modernizes in Gujrat, rest of India is having no benefit from one state upgrade. About time Modi think about Punjab and other parts.

  2. It would do well if Hon. Supreme court investigates following:
    1. Who are the masterminds who instigated these farmers?
    2. Who are the people funding the legal expenses of these so called Poor farmers?
    3. Is this group politically connected to some unworthy parties which wishes to create stumble blocks in implementation of the project because they did not get any kickbacks?

  3. Bullet train should be stalled on a condition that those affected farmers will not take freebies subsidies loan waivers from the government


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here