Monday, 4 July, 2022
HomePoliticsKanimozhi makes her debut in DMK's list of 20 candidates to be...

Kanimozhi makes her debut in DMK’s list of 20 candidates to be fielded in Lok Sabha polls

The list also features former union ministers Dayanidhi Maran, A. Raja and T.R. Baalu for 20 constituencies in Tamil Nadu.

Text Size:

Chennai: DMK Sunday announced former union ministers Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and T R Baalu and its Rajya Sabha member Kanimozhi among its candidates for the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies it is contesting in Tamil Nadu.

Releasing the list of candidates, which included 13 new faces, party president M K Stalin Sunday said Maran will contest from Central Chennai, A Raja from Nilgiris (SC) and T R Baalu from Sriperumbudur constituencies.

His sister and Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi will try her luck from Tuticorin constituency in southern Tamil Nadu.

Former Union Minister of State, S Jagathrakshakan is fielded from Arakkonam.

Kanimozhi’s Rajya Sabha terms ends in July this year.

DMK has alloted 19 other seats in the state to its allies.

Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Why news media is in crisis & How you can fix it

India needs free, fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism even more as it faces multiple crises.

But the news media is in a crisis of its own. There have been brutal layoffs and pay-cuts. The best of journalism is shrinking, yielding to crude prime-time spectacle.

ThePrint has the finest young reporters, columnists and editors working for it. Sustaining journalism of this quality needs smart and thinking people like you to pay for it. Whether you live in India or overseas, you can do it here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular