Friday, 2 December, 2022
HomePoliticsBJP & allies win landslide in Guwahati civic polls, AAP gets 1...

BJP & allies win landslide in Guwahati civic polls, AAP gets 1 seat, zero for Congress

BJP & Asom Gana Parishad won 58 out of 60 wards in municipal polls held Friday after 9-year gap. Lurinjyoti Gogoi-led Assam Jatiya Parishad got 1 seat.

Text Size:

Guwahati: In a landslide victory, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) won in 58 out of 60 wards in the Guwahati municipal elections, according to the State Election Commission’s data. The polls were held Friday, with the results announced Sunday.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which is looking to expand its footprint in the northeast, won in a single ward, while the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) headed by former All Assam Students’ Union general secretary Lurinjyoti Gogoi also secured victory in one ward. 

“I bow my head to the people of Guwahati for giving @BJP4Assam & its allies a historic win in #GMCElections,” Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma wrote in a tweet. 

The BJP won 52 seats and the AGP six. Meanwhile, the Congress — the longest-ruling party in the state’s history, which was overthrown by the BJP in 2016 — failed to open its account.

Out of a total 200 candidates, the BJP had fielded 53 — three of whom had already been elected uncontested — the Congress 54, AAP 38, AJP 25, AGP seven, and the Communist Party of India (Marxist) four, while 19 were independent candidates.

Vote share

Of the total 4,00,806 votes polled in the GMC elections, the BJP had a vote share of 60 per cent, the Congress 13.72 per cent, AAP 10.69 per cent, AGP 6.33 per cent, AJP 3.85 per cent, CPI(M) 0.611 per cent, independents 2.78 per cent, and the rest were NOTA.

Thank you Guwahati! The people of this lovely city have given a resounding mandate to BJP Assam to build on the agenda of development,” tweeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi, adding that the people had “blessed” the state government’s “hard work”.

BJP national general secretary C.T. Ravi also tweeted congratulating the party’s Assam unit for its “unprecedented victory” in the polls.

AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal congratulated his party’s state unit for “making an entry”.

The civic polls were held for the first time since 2013. The Congress had won the last time around, but the party was reduced to a minority in the civic body after the BJP came to power in Assam in 2016 and captured the council.

(Edited by Rohan Manoj)

Also read: Gujarat MLA Jignesh Mevani arrested by Assam Police over ‘tweets on PM Modi’


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular