Saturday, June 3, 2023
Support Our Journalism
HomePoliticsPuducherry gets first woman minister in 41 years as NDA forms cabinet

Puducherry gets first woman minister in 41 years as NDA forms cabinet

Chandira Priyanga became the first woman to be sworn-in as minister in the UT after Late Congress leader Renuka Appadurai, who was the education minister from 1980 to 1983.

Text Size:

Pushucherry: Ending the more than a month long suspense over cabinet formation, five ministers, including two from the BJP, were inducted in the Chief Minister N Rangasamy-led NDA cabinet on Sunday.

A Namassivayam, K Lakshminarayanan, C Djeacoumar, Chandira Priyanga and A K Sai J Saravana Kumar were sworn in as Ministers by Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundarajan in front of the Raj Nivas.

All the Ministers took oath in the name of God.

Chief Minister Rangasamy, among others, was present on the occasion.

The portfolios of the ministers were not revealed.

Lakshminarayanan, Djeacoumar and Priyanga represent lead partner AINRC, while Namassivayam and Saravana Kumar are from its ally BJP.

This is the first time the saffron party is part of a Ministry in the Union Territory.

The exercise also saw a woman member become a minister after a 41 year gap, with Chandira Priyanga being sworn in.

Also read: What Puducherry, 9th govt brought down by Modi’s BJP in 7 yrs, tells us about party’s politics

Late Congress leader Renuka Appadurai was the last woman minister from the UT during 1980-83 and handled the Education portfolio in the M D R Ramachandran (DMK)-led coalition ministry.

Ending more than a month’s suspense over cabinet formation, Chief Minister N Rangasamy on June 23 submitted the list of members to be included in his ministry, to Soundararajan, which was subsequently approved by the President.

Though the AINRC-led NDA had swept the April 6 Assembly polls in this union territory, cabinet formation dragged on for long as the saffron party initially insisted for a deputy CM post, but later settled for the post of the Assembly Speaker.

Soon after leading his alliance to a win, AINRC founder Rangasamy was sworn-in as Chief Minister on May 7 but no other cabinet member was sworn-in.

Later, BJP’s ‘Embalam’ R Selvam was elected unopposed as Speaker of the Puducherry Assembly on June 16.

The swearing in ceremony was held at 2.30 PM in front of Raj Nivas, the office cum residence of the Lt Governor.

AINRC emerged victorious from 10 segments out of 16 seats it contested in the hustings and heads the NDA here. The BJP annexed six of the nine seats it contested.

The NDA enjoys the support of three nominated members belonging to the BJP.

The House has a total of 33 MLAs, including the three nominated ones.

Modi extends wishes to cabinet 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday extended his best wishes to the ministers in the Puducherry government who took oath earlier in the day.

Modi tweeted, “Best wishes to all those who took oath as Ministers in Puducherry today. May this team work with determination and fulfil the aspirations of the wonderful people of Puducherry.”

Five ministers were inducted into the NDA cabinet in Puducherry on Sunday, nearly two months after Chief Minister N Rangasamy was sworn in.

Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan administered the oath of office to the five ministers.



Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular