Saturday, March 18, 2023
HomePoliticsBJP announces 3rd nominations list for RS polls, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi's name...

BJP announces 3rd nominations list for RS polls, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi’s name missing

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi's exclusion from Rajya Sabha nominations list has put question mark on his continuation in union council of ministers, as a minister must be member of either house of Parliament.

Text Size:

New Delhi: The exclusion of union minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi from the third list of BJP nominations for the 10 June Rajya Sabha elections across 15 states, has raised eyebrows in the political circle about his future assignment, and has also indicated that the BJP may not be considering him for a re-nomination to the Upper House.

While the party has officially not said anything on the matter, some in the BJP have suggested that Naqvi may be fielded for the bypolls for the Rampur Lok Sabha seat, to be held on 23 June. Naqvi was a Rajya Sabha member from Jharkhand and is the second union minister not getting re-elected to the Upper House. Earlier JD(U) did not nominate union minister R.C.P. Singh for the Rajya Sabha elections.

“Naqvi is one of the prominent faces and the only Muslim minister in the government. Elections are due in Rampur and it has been his constituency in the past, so there is a high possibility that he may contest from there. A final decision will be taken by the central leadership,” said a senior BJP leader.

Meanwhile, his exclusion from the Rajya Sabha nominations has also put a question mark on his continuation in the union council of ministers, as the rules mandate that a minister has to be a member of either house of Parliament.

Naqvi, was among the three BJP union ministers whose term in the upper house has expired. While the party re-nominated Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal, Naqvi has not made it to the list.

While the future of Naqvi remains uncertain, another prominent name missing from BJP’s list of Rajya Sabha nominations is that of party spokesperson Syed Zafar Islam.

On Monday, BJP announced its third list of candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections for 57 seats. The list includes the names of K. Laxman, the BJP’s OBC Morcha chief and former Shahjahanpur MP Mithilesh Kumar, as nominees for two seats from UP, Madhya Pradesh BJP vice president Sumitra Valmiki from Madhya Pradesh and Lal Singh Siroya, an MLC, from Karnataka. Siroya is considered close to former chief minister of Karnataka B.S. Yediyurappa.

Elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats across 15 states will take place on 10 June and Tuesday is the last day for nominations.

“There are two seats in Rajasthan and Haryana (for which BJP has not announce nominations). The party may back media baron Subhash Chandra as an independent candidate from Rajasthan,” said a party leader.

(This story has been updated.)

(Edited by Poulomi Banerjee)

Also read: ‘Would you catch a fallen star’ — Song for fallen BJP CMs, from Deb to Rawats to Yediyurappa


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular