Saturday, February 4, 2023
HomePoliticsKapil Mishra is not the first AAP leader to go rogue on...

Kapil Mishra is not the first AAP leader to go rogue on the party.

Text Size:

Here is a list of AAP rebels who won’t be speaking in favour of the Delhi government in the assembly.

Kapil Mishra , the MLA from Karawal Nagar, has alleged corruption and bribery against party leaders. But Mishra isn’t the first MLA though to run foul of the party leadership. He is only the latest in the fast-crumbling, holier-than-thou party.

Here are the rebels who are still in the state assembly but won’t be speaking up in favour of the AAP government any time soon.


Kapil Mishra

Constituency: Karawal Nagar

What happened: Got dropped as water minister over alleged non-performance. Mishra responded by levelling charges of corruption against Arvind Kejriwal. AAP suspending his party membership.

Current status: Filed complaints with the Central Bureau of Investigation and the Anti-Corruption Bureau against AAP leaders alleging graft.


Ved Prakash

Constituency: Bawana

Why: Resigned from AAP just before the 2017 civic polls in Delhi

Current status: The former BJP MLA returned to the party saying that the AAP government’s ministers were never taking his calls.


Asim Ahmed Khan 

Constituency: Matia Mahal

Why: Got sacked as Food and Civil Supplies and Environment Minister because he was accused of taking a bribe of Rs 6 lakh to allow a construction in his constituency. Later alleged that Kejriwal and his aides had given him death threats.

Current status: Khan is still an MLA but has been speaking out against the AAP. After Mishra’s allegations, Khan also alleged that Kejriwal had demanded Rs 5 crore from him.


Colonel Devender Sehrawat

Constituency: Bijwasan

Why: Sehrawat had been opposed to the expulsion of Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan from the party in 2015. He then alleged some of the party’s Punjab leaders were corrupt. Sehrawat was then suspended from the party but continues to remain an MLA.

Current status: Still an MLA


Pankaj Pushkar 

Constituency: Timarpur

Why: Pushkar was another AAP MLA who was opposed to the expulsion of Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan from the AAP. Has also been a vocal opponent of the AAP government’s policies.

Current status: Still an MLA but was campaigning for rival Swaraj Abhiyan during recent civic polls in Delhi.

Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism


  1. This article proves clearly that there is a lack of leadership skills in Delhi CM & chief convener Arvind Kejriwal. Yogendar Yadav was right when asked about Arvind Kejriwal. Arrogant, Authoritarian, High command culture style of functioning is not good for the party. If democracy within the party is lost. How can this party uphold the democracy of India?

Comments are closed.

Most Popular