Deve Gowda
File photo of Janata Dal (Secular) president and former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda | Youtube
Text Size:

Bengaluru: Janata Dal (Secular) president and former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda Wednesday expelled the three disqualified MLAs who were responsible for bringing down the party’s coalition government in Karnataka for “anti-party” activities.

The three who have been expelled with immediate effect are A H Vishwanath, K Gopalaiah and K C Narayanagowda.

The three, who were JD(S) MLAs, had resigned from the state legislature and had abstained from voting along with 14 Congress MLAs, which led to the defeat of the Congress-JD(S) government during the trust vote on July 23.

The action by the party comes days after these MLAs were disqualified from the state legislature by the then assembly speaker Ramesh Kumar under the anti-defection law.

The Congress on Tuesday had expelled 14 of its rebel MLAs who were disqualified.

Also read: Why a BJP govt in Karnataka could be as unstable as the 14-month Congress-JD(S) alliance


ThePrint is now on Telegram. For the best reports & opinion on politics, governance and more, subscribe to ThePrint on Telegram.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Share Your Views


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here