Tuesday, February 7, 2023
HomePoliticsDelhi BJP declares candidates for bypolls to 5 municipal seats

Delhi BJP declares candidates for bypolls to 5 municipal seats

Shalimar Bagh and Rohini-C under NDMC, and Trilokpuri, Kalyanpuri and Chauhan Bangar under EDMC will go to bypolls on 28 Feb.

Text Size:

New Delhi: The Delhi BJP on Sunday declared its candidates for the upcoming bypolls to five municipal corporation wards.

The battle lines are drawn for the tri-cornered contest in five wards with main rivals declaring their candidates. The AAP and the Congress declared their candidates on Saturday.

Delhi BJP president Adesh Gupta released the list of party candidates, including Rajesh Goel, Rohini-C, Surabhi Jaju, Shalimar North, Om Prakash Gugarwal, Trilokpuri, Siyaram Kanojia, Kalyanpuri, and Mohammad Nazir Ansari, Chauhan Bangar.

The bypolls will be held on February 28. Two wards in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), Shalimar Bagh and Rohini-C, and three under the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), Trilokpuri, Kalyanpuri and Chauhan Bangar, will go for the bypolls.

Four of the five wards fell vacant after sitting councillors contested assembly polls on Aam Aadmi Party ticket in 2020 and became MLAs.

The Shalimar Bagh ward fell vacant since the death of Renu Jaju, who had won the seat on a BJP ticket in 2017.

Also read: BJP raises the stakes for defectors, but the payback has started hurting


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular