Wednesday, March 29, 2023
HomePoliticsBJP leads in Left bastion Tripura, Congress leads in Meghalaya & NPF...

BJP leads in Left bastion Tripura, Congress leads in Meghalaya & NPF leading in Nagaland

Text Size:

Initial results from the three states have thrown up some surprises. 

New Delhi: Initial poll results show the BJP is leading in the Left Front bastion Tripura, the Congress is leading in Meghalaya where it already is in power and the Naga Peoples Front is ahead in Nagaland.

Congress looks set to win Meghalaya

The Congress is leading in 20 seats followed by the National People’s Party (NPP) in 12 as trends are available for 43 seats in the Meghlaya Assembly elections.

Chief Minister Mukul Sangma is leading in Songsak constituency. He is also contesting in Ampati seat.

While the United Democratic Party (UDP) is leading in five, the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) is leading in four.

Both the BJP and Independents are leading in three constituencies.

Polling for 59 seats of the 60-member Assembly was held on February 27. A Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed in an IED blast, which resulted in countermanding of the polls in one seat.

BJP leading in Left bastion of Tripura

The BJP is leading in 26 constituencies in the Left Front-ruled Tripura as trends are available for 40 seats.

The CPI(M)-led Left Front is leading in 19 seats.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar (Dhanpur) and PWD Minister Badal Chowdhury (Hrishyamukh) are leading.

BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb (Banamlipur) and party MLA Sudip Roy Burman (Agartala) are leading.

Election in 59 seats for the 60-member Assembly was held on February 18. Polling was countermanded in one seat due to death of a CPI(M) candidate.

NPF leads in 3 in Nagaland, NDPP in 2 seats

The ruling NPF was leading in 14 seats while the NDPP was leading in seven seats as per early trends available for the Nagaland Assembly, Election Commission sources said today.

Voting for the 59 seats in the 60-member Assembly was held on February 27 as NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio was elected uncontested from Northern Angami II seat.


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular