BJP celebrating election victory
Party workers with BJP flags at a rally | PTI
Text Size:
  • 1

New Delhi: The BJP Tuesday decided to drop all its 10 sitting MPs from Chhattisgarh, a decision that comes in the wake of the party’s drubbing in recent assembly elections.

BJP General Secretary Anil Jain, who is also in charge of the state, said the party has decided to face the Lok Sabha elections with “new candidates and fresh energy” to make it victorious under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Jain said the state BJP made the proposal to drop the MPs to the central election committee of the party, which gave its nod.

Former Chief Minister Raman Singh is likely to be the party’s candidate from Rajnandgaon, sources said.

The state sends 11 MPs to the Lok Sabha.

Also read: Chhattisgarh Congress govt renames 5 schemes named after Deendayal Upadhyaya by BJP


Check out My543, our comprehensive report card of all Lok Sabha MPs.

  • 1
1 Comment Share Your Views


  1. This approach had served the party well in the elections to the three municipal corporations in Delhi some time back. All sitting corporations were replaced. An acknowledgement that they had done nothing useful during their terms. The party was returned to power, since hope springs eternal in the human breast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here