Categories: Last Laughs

Shah scouts prisons for candidates as a BJP MP dodges a shoe

The best cartoons of the day, chosen by editors at ThePrint.

19 April, 2019 4:24 pm

The selected cartoons appeared first in other publications, either in print or online, or on social media, and are credited appropriately.

Sandeep Adhwaryu |The Times of India

Sandeep Adhwaryu on the cash flow in these elections, particularly in Tamil Nadu, where the Vellore Lok Sabha election has been rescinded over the Income Tax department seizing unaccounted cash.

Sajith Kumar | Deccan Herald

Sajith Kumar for Deccan Herald takes a jibe at Prime Minister Narendra Modi using the Shoegate incident, in which BJP MP GVL Narasimha Rao ‘ducked’ out of a shoe that was hurled at him at the BJP headquarters Thursday.

Alok Nirantar | Sakal Media Group

Alok Nirantar for Sakal Media Group takes a dig at the BJP over fielding the Malegaon blast accused Sadhvi Pragya at the Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency.

Mahamud | Twitter

Mahamud on the Election Commission (EC) suspending IAS officer Mohammed Mohsin for checking Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s chopper in Odisha’s Sambalpur, where the officer was the general poll observer.

Kirtish Bhatt | BBC News Hindi

Kirtish Bhatt for BBC News Hindi takes a potshot at BJP’s Lok Sabha candidate from Bhopal, Sadhvi Pragya’s, comments that ‘Muslims are our own people’. The cartoonist puns on the irony of Pragya’s comments.

Satish Acharya | Twitter

Satish Acharya takes a swipe at once arch-rivals BSP chief Mayawati and SP founder Mulayam Singh Yadav sharing the same stage to campaign for the Lok Sabha polls. Cartoonist builds his punchline around the senior Yadav, who had praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi a few months ago.

Suhail Naqshbandi | Greater Kashmir

Suhail Naqshbandi pokes fun at the political parties of Jammu and Kashmir, (Peoples Democratic Party and National Conference in this cartoon)  taking jibes at each other this election season.

Get the PrintEssential to make sense of the day's key developments

Tags: BJPBSPElection CommissionMayawatiMulayam Singh YadavNarendra ModiPragya SadhviSP