Sunday, 26 June, 2022
HomeIndiaYogi Adityanath allocates portfolios to new ministers, keeps Home and 33 other...

Yogi Adityanath allocates portfolios to new ministers, keeps Home and 33 other departments

Deputy CM Keshav Maurya has been allocated 6 departments, while PWD has been given to Jitin Prasada. State BJP chief Swatantra Dev Singh got Jal Shakti & Flood Control.

Text Size:

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Monday allocated portfolios in his 53-member ministry, keeping the departments of Home, Vigilance and Personnel with him. Altogether, 34 departments remain with him.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya has been allocated six departments — Rural Development, Rural Engineering, Food Processing, Entertainment Tax, Public Enterprise and National Integration.

The Public Works Department, which Maurya headed in the previous ministry, has been given to Jitin Prasada this time.

In addition to the chief minister, a total 52 ministers of different ranks were administered oath on March 25 here. All of them were distributed responsibilities on Monday.

According to the list of portfolios released here, another Deputy Chief Minister Brajesh Pathak will head Medical Education, Medical and Health and Family Welfare departments.

Cabinet Minister Suresh Khanna will continue to look after Finance and Parliamentary Affairs departments like in the previous ministry, while Surya Pratap Shahi was given Agriculture, Agriculture Education and research departments.

State BJP president Swatantra Dev Singh, who has been inducted in the Adityanath 2.0 government, got Jal Shakti and Flood Control.

Baby Rani Maruya got women welfare and Child Development departments. IAS-turned-politician Arvind Kumar Sharma, a confidante of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has been given Urban Development, Energy among five departments.

Among allies, while Nishad Party president Sanjay Nishad got Fisheries, the Apna Dal (Sonelal) leader Ashish Patel was given Technical Education department.

Among Ministers of State (MoS) with independent charge, former IPS officer Asim Arun will head Social welfare, SC/ST welfare departments.

Among other MoS’ (independent charge) Sandip Singh, grandson of BJP veteran Kalyan Singh, will take care of Basic Education while Daya Shankar Singh gets Transport.

Danish Azad Ansari, the lone muslim minister in the MoS rank, has been allocated Minorities Welfare besides Waqf and Haj departments.

The only sikh minister of the same MOS rank, Baldev Singh Aulakh, got Agriculture and Agriculture Education.

According to constitutional provisions, there can be a maximum of 60 ministers in Uttar Pradesh, including the chief minister.

This report is auto-generated from PTI news service. ThePrint holds no responsibility for its content.

Also read: Yogi govt 2.0 likely to present first budget of over Rs 6.5 lakh crore focusing on BJP’s poll promises

Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Why news media is in crisis & How you can fix it

India needs free, fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism even more as it faces multiple crises.

But the news media is in a crisis of its own. There have been brutal layoffs and pay-cuts. The best of journalism is shrinking, yielding to crude prime-time spectacle.

ThePrint has the finest young reporters, columnists and editors working for it. Sustaining journalism of this quality needs smart and thinking people like you to pay for it. Whether you live in India or overseas, you can do it here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular