Thursday, March 30, 2023
HomeIndiaList of farmer leaders, unions named in Delhi Police FIRs after Republic...

List of farmer leaders, unions named in Delhi Police FIRs after Republic Day violence

FIRs have been registered against members of several farmer unions and their leaders under various sections of IPC for violence during the tractor rally on 26 January.

Text Size:

New Delhi: The Delhi Police has registered as many as 25 FIRs so far in connection with the violence that broke out during the farmers’ tractor rally on Republic Day.

The FIRs have been registered against members of several farmers’ unions and their leaders under various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), including unlawful assembly, assault on public servant, attempt to murder, dacoity, robbery, criminal conspiracy, rioting, vandalising public property, and stopping public servants from doing their duty, among others.

Six spokespersons of the Samyukta Kisan Morcha, actor Deep Sidhu, gangster-turned-activist Lakha Sidhana (Malwa Youth Federation), and social activist Medha Patkar have also been named in the FIRs.

A tractor rally by farmers on 26 January, against the three contentious farm laws passed by the Narendra Modi government, turned violent after protesters deviated from the route approved by the Delhi Police.

Thousands of farmers entered the national capital, breaching barricades on their way, clashed with police, vandalised buses, and laid siege to the Red Fort.

Below is the list of those named in the FIRs till now.

1. Boota Singh Shadipur, Bhartiya Kisan Manch

2. Jagjit Singh Dallewal, BKU (Sidhupur)

3. Balbir Singh Rajewal, BKU (Rajewal)

4. Darshan Pal, Krantikari Kisan Union

5. Kulwant Singh Sandhu, Jamhoori Kisan Sabha

6. Baldev Singh Sirsa, Lok Bhalai Insaf Welfare Society

7. Jagbir Singh Tada, Doaba Kisan Samiti

8. Mukesh Chandra, Doaba Kisan Sangharsh Committee

9. Sukhpal Singh Daffar, Ganna Sangharsh Committee

10. Harpaal Sangha, Azad of Kisan Committee Doaab

11. Kripal Singh Nathuvala, Kisan Bachao Morcha

12. Harinder Singh Lakhoval, Bhartiya Kisan Union Lakhowal

13. Prem Singh Bhangu, Kulhind Kisan Federation

14. Gurnam Singh Chanduni, Bhartiya Kisan Union (Chanduni)

15. Rakesh Tikait, Bhartiya Kisan Union

16. Kavita Kurnguti, Mahila Kisan Adhikar Manch

17. Rishipal Ambavata, Bhartiya Kisan Union (Ambavata)

18. V. M Singh, All India Kisan Sangharsh Coordination Committee

19. Medha Patkar, Social Activist

20. Yogendra Yadav, Swaraj India president

21. Avik Saha, Jai Kisan Aandolan (Swaraj India)

22. Prem Singh Gehlot, All India Kisan Sabha

23. Tejinder Singh Virk, Terai Kisan Sangatha

24. Harpal Singh, Bhartiya Kisan Union (Amroha)

25. Jagtaar Singh Bajwa, BKU

26. Nirbhai Singh Dhudike, Kirti Kisan Union

27. Ruldu Singh Mansa, Punjab Kisan Union

28. Vinod Kumar, Jat Mahasabha

29. Inderjit Singh, Kisan Sangharsh Committee

30. Harjinder Singh Tanda, Azad Kisan Sangharsh Committee, Punjab

31. Gurbaksh Singh, Jai Kisan Andolan

32. Satnam Singh Pannu, Kisan Mazdoor Sangharsh Committee

33. Kanwalpreet Singh Pannu, Kisan Sangharsh Committee

34. Harmeet Singh Kadian, BKU Kadian

35. Bogh Singh Mansa, BKU (Mansa)

36. Kirpal Singh Nathuwala, Kisan Bachao Morcha

37. Surjit Singh Phool, BKU Krantikari

38. Deep Sidhu, Punjabi actor

39. Lakha Sidhana, Gangster-turned-activist 

Also read: Breaking barriers to Red Fort march — timeline of how farmer protest turned ugly within hours


Subscribe to our channels on YouTube & Telegram

Support Our Journalism

India needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. ThePrint – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in India or overseas, you can take a paid subscription by clicking here.

Support Our Journalism

Most Popular