Srinagar during the shutdown following the scrapping of Article 370 | Photo: Praveen Jain | ThePrint
Srinagar during the shutdown following the scrapping of Article 370 | Photo: Praveen Jain | ThePrint
Text Size:

New Delhi: Following an initiative taken by Union Home Minister Amit Shah, a group of central ministers will visit Jammu and Kashmir starting from 18 January including sensitive areas in the valley to spread awareness about the positive impact of abrogation of Article 370 provisions and the development measures taken by the government for the region, sources said Wednesday.

Thirty-six Union ministers will visit different districts in both the divisions of the Union Territory starting from January 18 to January 24 and the Home ministry is coordinating it, the sources said.

List of the 36 union ministers to visit Jammu and Kashmir

Minister of State for Home G Kishen Reddy has written a letter to Jammu and Kashmir Chief Secretary BVR Subrahmanyam, informing about the visit of the ministers.

In his letter, Reddy said that Home Minister Shah has desired that all members of the Union Council of Ministers pay a visit to Jammu and Kashmir, with the objective of disseminating information about the importance of the Centre’s policies for the overall development of the Union Territory and its people along with the steps taken by the government particularly in the past five months after the abrogation of Article 370 provisions and bifurcation of erstwhile state.

There will be 51 visits to Jammu and eight to Srinagar.

Union minister Smriti Irani will visit Katra and Panthal areas of Reasi district on 19 January, while on the same day her cabinet colleague Piyush Goyal will be in Srinagar.

Whereas Reddy will be in Ganderbal on 22 January and Manigam on January 23, Union Minister for Law and Justice Ravi Shankar Prasad will visit Sopore in Baramulla district on 24 January.

VK Singh is scheduled to visit Tikri in Udhampur on 20 January while Kiren Rijiju will go to Suchetgarh in Jammu on 21 January.

Similarly Union ministers RK Singh will visit Khellani in Doda district and Shripad Nayak will hold a meeting at SKICC in Srinagar.

Besides them, Union ministers Anurag Thakur, Giriraj Singh, Pralhad Joshi, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and Jitendra Singh are among the other ministers who will visit different districts during the period.

The schedule for the visit of the ministers will also be discussed and finalised at a meeting of the Union Council of Ministers on 17 January.

This will be the second round of visit by the Union ministers to Jammu and Kashmir after the abrogation of the special status of the erstwhile state on 5 August.

Earlier this month, in one of the meetings of the council of ministers a presentation was also been made on the development initiatives taken by the Centre following the imposition of the governor rule in the region.

Also read: New political front takes shape in Kashmir, and it’s ready to look beyond Article 370


ThePrint is now on Telegram. For the best reports & opinion on politics, governance and more, subscribe to ThePrint on Telegram.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

1 Comment Share Your Views


  1. Let it be a fruitful, constructive, two way conversation and dialogue, with the people of the Valley sharing their fears, hopes and aspirations as well.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here